seeders: 0
leechers: 1
Added on May 6, 2005 by in Movies
Torrent verified.

Description

MY NIKIFOR (2004, 97 min.)

dir. Krzysztof Krauze

type: drama/EE arthouse

Krauze's My Nikifor (Mój Nikifor) (2004) is an account of three months in 1960 in the life of Epifan Drowniak aka Nikifor Krynicki (played by Krystyna Feldman), a self-taught genius of primitivism, told from the point of view of Marian Wlosinski (Roman Garncarczyk). Wlosinski sacrifices his own artistic career and family life to care for Nikifor and delivers him to the world. His choice on the matter is, however, limited. Nikifor, who suffers from speech impairment, tuberculosis and practically lives in the street, appears one day in Wlosinski's workshop and announces “I will paint here!” He moves into Wlosinski's life; he claims it; he refuses to leave.

"The setting is the mountain spa resorts of Krynica, the year is 1960. We are in the studio of Marian Wlosinski, which is located along the main pedestrian walk. Nikifor enters and unpacks his painting tools. Wlosinski's life, thus far a calm, regulated one planned to the minutest detail, is suddenly disrupted. Wlosinski tries to rid himself of his intrusive guest. He decides to find Nikifor's family. It turns out that Nikifor lives entirely on his own. Various people have given him shelter, he has no birth certificate. From a legal point of view... he simply does not exist." [...]